Biometric Authentication: the new necessity of digitalized companies

What is the emergency in implementing Biometric Authentication?

In a world of frenetic digitization and automated access to all kinds of services and physical locations, identity fraud and usurpation is a constant concern. Massive volumes of data gathered 24/7 is goldmine for fraudsters that are targeting personal data as well as industrial (or even defense) secrets.

In 2019, there were 4.1 billion records globally under threat while the breaches recorded a surge of 54% further to ENISA (The European Union Agency for Cybersecurity).

This issue is taken seriously worldwide. The size of the fraud detection and prevention market value will soar from $28.8 billion in 2020 to $63.5 billion in 2023 showing 120% increase in 3 years (source: MarketsandMarkets, Statista 2018).

Biometric authetication: the new necessity of the digitalized companies.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Why then moving towards Biometric Authentication?

In the last years, there were many technology breakthroughs to afford individuals and companies with best protecting tools such as badges, passwords, etc. Yet, the progress of science opened a stunning era to learn more about how the unique features of our bodies could be the most secure keys to secure our data and assets.

In fact, biometric authentication methods rely on our unique characteristics that are difficult to copy, reverse engineer or steal when compared to traditional methods. The most popular biometrics authentication methods are Fingerprint, Face recognition, Iris/Retina, Finger veins and Palm veins.

Each of them has Pro and Con’s: Fingerprint though extremely popular, it can easily be reverse engineered, Iris/Retina can be invasive when it comes to extensive use, Face Recognition can face resistance for privacy reasons and might not meet local GDPR guidelines.

What is the added Value of Perfect-ID in this field?

Therefore, PerfectID, a Belgian company, made the bet to deliver the most secure biometric authentication technology that based on Palm Veins as unique key: Palmki™.

This solution scans more than 5 million reference points in the vein structure of a hand with a highly accurate infrared sensor to generate a digital key that can’t be breached or copied hence the authentication needs the living hand! During the authentication step, users need only to waive their hands in the most intuitive way before the authentication sensor. The latter will generate a new key and compare it with the one previously stored in central database to verify the match and what access to grant or deny to the user.

What about Slush Participation?

The promising potential of Palmki™ enabled PerfectID to join the world’s leading startup event SLUSH held in Helsinki, Finland, 1-2 December 2021. About 1800 start-ups and 2400 investors met up to showcase their latest technologies and look for funding. PerfectID was there and was selected among the few 54 companies invited on stage to speak up about Palmki™

Wim Van de Putte, General Manager of Perfect ID and expert in biometric authentication, summarized in two words “Your Palm will be the Key”, he added: “it is highly secure, very comfortable, hygienic (no touch) and eco-friendly”.

Biometric authentication

Authentification biométrique : la nouvelle nécessité des entreprises numérisées

Quelle est l'urgence de mettre en œuvre l'authentification biométrique ?

Dans un monde de numérisation frénétique et d'accès automatisé à toutes sortes de services et de lieux physiques, la fraude et l'usurpation d'identité sont une préoccupation constante. Les volumes massifs de données collectées 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7 sont une mine d'or pour les fraudeurs qui visent aussi bien les données personnelles que les secrets industriels (voire de défense).

En 2019, 4,1 milliards d'enregistrements ont été menacés dans le monde, tandis que les brèches ont enregistré une hausse de 54% selon l'ENISA (Agence de l'Union européenne pour la cybersécurité).

Cette question est prise au sérieux dans le monde entier. La taille de la valeur du marché de la détection et de la prévention de la fraude va s'envoler de $28,8 milliards en 2020 à $63,5 milliards en 2023 montrant une augmentation de 120% en 3 ans (source : MarketsandMarkets, Statista 2018).

Authentification biométrique : la nouvelle nécessité des entreprises numérisées.

YouTube

En chargeant la vidéo, vous acceptez la politique de confidentialité de YouTube.
En savoir plus

Charger la vidéo

Pourquoi alors s'orienter vers l'authentification biométrique ?

Ces dernières années, de nombreuses percées technologiques ont permis aux particuliers et aux entreprises de disposer des meilleurs outils de protection, tels que les badges, les mots de passe, etc. Pourtant, les progrès de la science ont ouvert une ère étonnante pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont les caractéristiques uniques de notre corps pourraient être les clés les plus sûres pour sécuriser nos données et nos actifs.

En fait, authentification biométrique Les méthodes biométriques s'appuient sur nos caractéristiques uniques qui sont difficiles à copier, à désosser ou à voler par rapport aux méthodes traditionnelles. Les méthodes d'authentification biométrique les plus populaires sont les empreintes digitales, la reconnaissance faciale, l'iris/rétine, les veines des doigts et les veines de la paume.

Chacune d'entre elles présente des avantages et des inconvénients : L'empreinte digitale, bien qu'extrêmement populaire, peut facilement faire l'objet d'une rétro-ingénierie, l'iris/rétine peut être invasive en cas d'utilisation intensive, la reconnaissance faciale peut se heurter à des résistances pour des raisons de confidentialité et pourrait ne pas être conforme aux directives GDPR locales.

Quelle est la valeur ajoutée de Perfect-ID dans ce domaine ?

C'est pourquoi PerfectID, une société belge, a fait le pari d'offrir la solution la plus sûre. authentification biométrique qui se base sur les veines de la paume comme clé unique : Palmki™.

Cette solution scanne plus de 5 millions de points de référence dans la structure veineuse d'une main à l'aide d'un capteur infrarouge de haute précision pour générer une clé numérique qui ne peut être ni violée ni copiée ; l'authentification nécessite donc la main vivante ! Lors de l'étape d'authentification, les utilisateurs n'ont qu'à agiter leur main de la manière la plus intuitive possible devant le capteur d'authentification. Ce dernier génère une nouvelle clé et la compare à celle précédemment stockée dans la base de données centrale pour vérifier la correspondance et déterminer quel accès accorder ou refuser à l'utilisateur.

Qu'en est-il de la participation de Slush ?

Le potentiel prometteur de Palmki™ a permis à PerfectID de rejoindre le principal événement de startups au monde. SLUSH qui s'est tenue à Helsinki, en Finlande, les 1er et 2 décembre 2021. Environ 1800 start-ups et 2400 investisseurs se sont retrouvés pour présenter leurs dernières technologies et rechercher des financements. PerfectID était présent et a été sélectionné parmi les quelques 54 entreprises invitées sur scène pour parler de Palmki™.

Wim Van de Putte, Directeur Général de Perfect ID et expert en authentification biométriqueRésumée en deux mots "Your Palm will be the Key", elle est hautement sécurisée, très confortable, hygiénique (sans contact) et écologique", a-t-il ajouté.

Biometric authentication